Writing the new introduction to the Cutscene

I wanted to go much more in-depth when rewriting the first cutscene as now i have a lot more free reign.

To do so I needed some help with wording and used a few sources to assist with this.

Forest name

  • I needed to come up with the name of the forest that Olga and Otto inhabit and where the player starts the game. I was really struggling with this as a lot of the name i thought of were to cliche or over done. To assist i used this website:
  • http://samkeddy.com/forest-name-generator/

Vasalisa’s Dialect

  • I wanted to incorporate Russian style dialogue in my work as much as possible to make it authentic so looked up how Russians referred to their mother and father. Although this isn’t a fully “Trustworthy” site for answers it provided me with the information I needed.
  • https://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20080208093838AA19sxB

The new beginning

A long time ago, in a kingdom far far away. A haunting Ice Wizard plagued the land. The king and queen despaired over what might become of their beloved kingdom and prayed for peace and hope.

However, all was not lost. The queen gave birth to a beautiful baby girl they named Vasalisa. Vasalisa was no ordinary girl, she was blessed with a magical fate that could finally bring peace to the kingdom. The king and queen kept the child hidden and raised her in secret for many years, but eventual word spread over the kingdom.

The Ice Wizard was furious “How dare someone challenge my magical power! No one can beat me! And I’ll make sure they never do…”

He ravaged the land, destroying town after town, storming his way the castle.

To protect their child, the king and queen left the castle under the cover of darkness and escaped into Winter Wood Forest. They travelled as far as they could into the dense woodland.

One morning Vasalisa awoke to find herself alone, her parents nowhere to be seen. Vasalisa called to them. “Mama?” “Papa?” But there was no answer.

She began to wonder through the forest to search for them. A storm began to fall and it was getting harder for her to push forwards and see.

I am much happier with this. I provides depth, a motive and establishment. This is only my first draft so it may be subject to change but I’m pleased with it.

Leave a Reply

